No one logged in. Log in
Print RSS


The Bend is a recording collective devoted to original music, the core of which comprises Fane Flaws (guitar,vocals, songs and mayhem), Peter Dasent (keyboards, off-kilter sensibility), Tony Backhouse (vocals, guitar, bass sometimes, vocal arrangements) and a revolving door of great supporting players, dating back to 1986 when Bruno Lawrence & Jonathan Zwartz were the crack rhythm section on a yet-to-be-released collection of Sam Hunt songs. Other guests have included Hamish Stuart, John Rae, Virna Sanzone, Jackie Orszáczky and Lucky Oceans; the band first recorded under the name Bend on Fane's 1997 childrens' book and DVD, The Underwatermelon Man and Other Unreasonable Rhymes, with guests such as Renee Geyer, Dave Dobbyn, Neil Finn, Tim Finn, Jenny Morris, Che Fu, King Kapisi, John Clarke, Chris Knox, Don McGlashan, George Washingmachine, Darren Watson and the Topp Twins. 
The next album We Disappear, an album of poems by Sam Hunt, musically realised by Fane & Tony is due for release in 2017. (You may be interested to note that Sam Hunt's poetry was first set to music in 1973. Tony Backhouse and Ian MacDonald wrote the music, Mammal recorded it. The LP Beware The Man was released on Red Rat Records.)  Other recordings of original music (Modernisation Means Trousers, Permanent Battle and others) are under way. 

The BEND tours infrequently, and they prefer house concerts and intimate settings for their performances. Here's a review of a house concert on their 2016 tour.


Another project driven by Fane Flaws, this band is based in Napier, NZ, and plays original music - and one cover: Frank Zappa's My Guitar Wants To Kill Your Mama: Fane Flaws (guitar,vocals, songs and possibly even more mayhem), Tony Backhouse (bass, guitar, vocals), Andy Gladstone (drums, vocals), Anton Wuts (horns), Nicole Taylor (vocals) & Margot Wuts (vocals), with guest appearances by Willy Devine (bass), Peter Dasent and others.